iOS 10.1: Stop Portrait mode from creating duplicate photos

Here’s how you can stop Portrait mode from creating duplicate photos in iOS 10.1 on the iPhone 7 Plus.

iphone 7 plus black
Credit: Apple

The iPhone 7 Plus has the ability to take pictures with a new feature called the depth-of-field effect. The depth-of-field effect is possible because of the iPhone 7 Plus’ dual cameras.

Here’s the official description from Apple’s announcement page:

iOS 10.1 brings Portrait mode to iPhone 7 Plus customers starting today, adding a beautiful new photo feature to the world’s most popular camera.

This new feature in the Camera app creates stunning photos and shows off the power of the dual-camera system in iPhone 7 Plus. Easily access Portrait mode from the Camera app, in between Photo and Square modes.

Using both 12-megapixel cameras on iPhone 7 Plus and advanced machine learning, Portrait mode applies a depth-of-field effect to make your foreground subject sharp while creating a beautifully blurred background. This effect, also known as “bokeh” and previously only capable on DSLR cameras, turns the camera you carry around with you everyday into an even more powerful photography tool.

More at Apple

Unfortunately, one of the side effects of this new feature is that iOS 10.1 creates two versions of your picture. One version uses the depth-of-field effect, while the other does not. Apple has set it up this way so that you can opt to keep either version, and it's good that it's the default setting for the users that want two copies of each of their photos.

How to disable Portrait mode’s "Keep Normal Photo"

Some folks might not want the normal version of the photo, however. No worries, it’s easy to change the Portrait mode setting to disable keeping a normal version of your photo.

Here’s how you can do it:

1. Open the Settings app.

2. Tap on Photos & Camera.

3. Scroll down to Portrait mode.

4. Toggle the “Keep Normal Photo” switch to the off position.

And that’s it, that’s all you need to do to avoid having your iPhone 7 Plus keep unwanted duplicates of your photos when you use Portrait mode.

If you change your mind later and want to keep normal versions of your photos, you can just toggle "Keep Normal Photo" back to the on position.

Did you miss a post? Check the Eye On Apple home page to get caught up with the latest news, discussions and rumors about Apple.

This article is published as part of the IDG Contributor Network. Want to Join?

To comment on this article and other CIO content, visit us on Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter.
Download the CIO October 2016 Digital Magazine
Notice to our Readers
We're now using social media to take your comments and feedback. Learn more about this here.