New Facebook Groups: 5 Key Facts

Facebook announced Groups, a new feature that lets a small number of people share and chat privately. Yes, privately. Here's what you need to know about Groups.

By
Thu, October 07, 2010

CIO — Facebook unveiled on Wednesday a new feature that lets you share, chat and e-mail with small groups of friends. Groups, which differs from another feature with the same name, is designed for a small number of people who know one another—think families and coworkers. Here, you can share pictures, comments and articles privately with only the people in the group. The former group pages, which targeted large communities of people with a common interest, will still be active.

[Want more tips, tricks and details on Facebook privacy? Check out CIO.com's Facebook Bible/]

In the announcement, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said that Groups were developed to combat "the biggest problem in social media": sharing everything with everyone, when you really only want to share something with select people. "'Just friends' was the most private setting," Zuckerberg said. "But you might not want to share something with hundreds or even thousands of friends."

Here's how to get started with Groups and details on its three main features.

1. Facebook Groups: Where to Start

On the left navigation of your Facebook page is a link to Groups (if it's not visible, choose More). Clicking this will take you to a homepage displaying the groups that you have joined in the past. You are not yet able to access the new Groups page from here; instead, you must visit the Groups landing page at http://www.facebook.com/groups.

Click "Create Group" to begin. If you're creating a group for family members, for example, name the group accordingly. Then begin typing the names of the people on Facebook that you want in the group. You can also change the icon that you associate with the group by clicking the drop-down menu next to Group Name.

Note that the default privacy setting is Closed—this means that the members of the group are visible, but everything that anyone posts is hidden to those outside the group. Additional settings are Open, in which all content is public; and Secret, in which both members of the group and content are private. Click Create to finish the setup.

[Facebook Privacy Fixes: Your Guide to the Newest Changes]

Continue Reading

Our Commenting Policies