Google+ Privacy: 5 Settings You Need to Know

Whether you're lurking around Google's new social network or are already actively using it, knowing your Google+ privacy and security settings is essential. From disabling email notifications to ditching your Google+ account, check out these five important settings.

By
Wed, July 06, 2011

CIO — While Google's (GOOG) new social network, Google+, is barely a week old, it's already received a lot of attention from tech pundits and the social media community. And as with any new online service, understanding how to control your information is essential.

Here's a look at five important Google+ privacy settings that let you manage who can email you directly, how you're notified of Google+ actions, how to disable the Google+ service, and more.

1. How to Prevent Anyone on Google+ from Emailing You

While Google+ doesn't display your actual email address, one setting lets anyone send you an email by clicking a button, possibly exposing you to an influx of spam or unwanted communications. Here's how to ensure this option is disabled.

In Google+, head to the top right corner of your screen, click the gear icon and select "Google+ Settings." Select the "Profile and privacy" tab on the left, then choose "Edit visibility on profile" next to "Public profile information."


Ensure the box is unchecked to disable this feature. Otherwise choose who to give this option to from the drop-down menu.

2. How to Selectively Disable Post Resharing on Google+

When you post an update or link in Google+, you have the option to share it publicly or with certain circles. When your post appears in your friends' streams, they can then reshare your post with their friends, unless you disable this option.

Here's what to do if you dont want others to share one of your posts.

First, write your post or share your link and choose the circles you want to share it with. Once it's posted, click the drop-down menu on the left of the post, then select "Disable reshare."


This will remove the "Share" link next to "Comments," preventing others from reposting it. Visit this same drop-down menu to tweak other settings for your posts, including editing the text after publishing it, deleting the post and disabling the comment feature.

3. How to Disable Google+ Email Notifications

When you first joined Facebook, you were likely bombarded with friend request and friend acceptance emails. The same goes for Google+—though it was announced just a week ago, you've probably received email notifications when someone adds you to a circle or comments on one of your posts. Here's how to turn email notifications off if they're flooding your inbox.

[Want more tips, tricks and details on Facebook privacy? Check out CIO.com's Facebook Bible.]

Continue Reading

Our Commenting Policies