4 Facebook Timeline Settings to Revisit

As Facebook forces Timeline onto users who have held out, here's a refresher on important privacy and account settings to change.

By
Thu, August 09, 2012

CIO — If you are one of the many Facebook users who have resisted the switch to Timeline, your days with the old format are numbered: Reports say that Facebook will begin rolling out Timeline to all members by the fall.

Facebook users have been critical of the new design from the start, raising privacy concerns and voicing dissatisfaction with the new design.

If you've held out on moving to timeline, here's a rundown of important privacy and account settings you should revisit before going live with your new profile.

1. Change Your Facebook Wall's Privacy Settings

With Timeline, every status update, wall post and photo ever posted since the day you joined Facebook becomes easily searchable to you and your friends by using the sliding bar on the right to search by date. For many—especially early adopters who used Facebook before its more robust privacy settings—dredging up the past for all to see could be a privacy nightmare.

When you or Facebook migrates your account to the new Timeline, you'll have one week to make adjustments to your past posts and privacy settings before your Timeline will go live for everyone to see. You can publish your Timeline yourself anytime within the seven-day waiting period. Use this time to adjust your settings.

You have three options for adjusting your settings, based on the level of privacy you want to achieve. You can make all of your posts friends-only, limit who sees posts by others on your timeline or edit the privacy setting of every post manually.

For step-by-step instructions for all of these, read more here.

[Your Complete Guide to Facebook Timeline]

2. Review Your "Likes"

With the old Facebook profile, pages you "liked" and your interests were buried under your Info tab. Timeline, however, resurfaces these sections and places them at the top of your Timeline, below your cover photo.

To review all your likes from each year you've used Facebook, and to browse the interests you added over the years, click the "Likes" icon.

The first section will show you your interests. To add or remove some, click the "Edit" button at the top. The section below that will show you the pages you liked by year, and your friends who also like that page. To remove any of these, click on the page's name, then select "Unlike."

3. Check Your Notification Settings

Facebook sends you notifications to the email address you provided whenever certain actions are taken on the social network that involve you. To prevent a barrage of email—or to increase your visibility into what you miss when you're not logged on—visit your Notifications Settings page.

Continue Reading

Our Commenting Policies