by Byron Connolly

NSW government adds to ICT advisory panel

Apr 01, 20142 mins

The NSW government has appointed six new members to its ICT Advisory Panel, including a new chair, qualified lawyer and former Australian Computer Society president, Anthony Wong.

Other new members include Google ANZ’s head of geospatial Paul Cousins, Energetica CEO Lisa Harvey, Macquarie University’s Vijay Varadharajan, Centre for Digital Business director Marie Johnson, and Fujitsu Australia’s Les Davey.

John Baird, Lee Barnett, Barbara Reed and Dr Steve Hodgkinson, all current members of the Panel, have been reappointed for another year, the government said.

Minster for finance and services Andrew Constance said in a statement that the new members will provide expertise and advice to the ICT Board and support the refresh of the NSW Government ICT Strategy later this year.

Read: NSW government releases ICT investment policy for agencies.

“I take this opportunity to thank Jane Treadwell, Ian Oppermann, Philip Cronin, Bob Hayward and Barry Dietrich for their invaluable advice over the last two years.

“They have all played a key role in the development and implementation of the government’s ICT agenda,” the minister said.

New chairman Anthony Wong has provided strategic advice to government in ICT, education, standards development, trade and law across Asia and Australia.

“He is a proven performer for Australia’s Digital Economy and regularly presents to national and international conferences,” said Constance.