by Dan Muse

Meet the 2016 CIO 100 winners and Hall of Fame Inductees

Jun 13, 2016
CIOCIO 100IT Leadership recognizes companies that driving business results through IT innovation. We also honor seven CIOs whose careers are worthy of Hall of Fame status. is pleased to announce the winners of the 29th annual CIO 100 Awards. And we’re equally excited to recognize seven new inductees to the CIO Hall of Fame. The CIO 100 Awards honor 100 organizations  — this year selected from a pool of nearly 500 nominations — that have distinguished themselves by creating business value through the innovative use of technology.  The Hall of Fame honors CIOs whose vision, commitment and adaptability stand out as examples of practical leadership in IT. 

Watch for the June/July digital edition of for expanded coverage of this year’s CIO 100 winners and Hall of Fame inductees.  We’ll also be unveiling our searchable database of all 100 winners, featuring descriptions of the 100 winning projects, in early August.

[ Meet our panel of judges ]

We will recognize this year’s winning companies at a gala awards dinner and ceremony at the CIO 100 Symposium, being held August 14-16, 2016 at the Terranea Resort in Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif. This year’s conference theme is “Customers in Control: The Race to Innovate.”

2016 CIO 100 Winners:

  • Accenture
  • Adelman Travel
  • Aflac
  • Allstate Insurance Company
  • American International Group, Inc.
  • Amgen Inc.
  • AstraZeneca
  • AT&T Entertainment Group
  • Avanade
  • Banco do Brasil
  • Bank Leumi
  • Biogen
  • BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee
  • BNY Mellon
  • Cadence Design Systems
  • Cancer Treatment Centers of America
  • Cargo Chief
  • Celgene Corp.
  • Christiana Care Health System
  • CIT Group, Inc.
  • City of Long Beach
  • CLP Group
  • Collegiate Licensing Company
  • Cushman & Wakefield
  • CVS Health
  • Dell Technologies
  • DirectBuy Inc.
  • Discover Financial Services
  • Domino’s Pizza
  • Eaton
  • Emergency Communications Network
  • First Data
  • Foot Locker, Inc.
  • General Motors
  • Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Hilton Worldwide
  • Injured Workers Pharmacy
  • Inland Real Estate Investment Corporation
  • Intel Corporation
  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • KAR Auction Services
  • KEPCO Korea Electric Power Corporation
  • LPL Financial
  • Maersk Line A/S
  • Manila Water Company, Inc.
  • MassMutual Financial Group
  • Merck Manufacturing IT
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp.
  • Mercy Technology Services
  • Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Miami-Dade County Information Technology Department
  • Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget
  • MIT, Information Systems & Technology
  • Monsanto
  • Mount Sinai Health System
  • NASA Glenn Research Center
  • NatureServe
  • Navistar, Inc.
  • NewYork-Presbyterian
  • Nielsen
  • Northern Trust
  • NorthShore University HealthSystem
  • Nutrisavings
  • Pacific Gas and Electric Company
  • Penn Medicine – University of Pennsylvania Health System
  • Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest and the Hawaiian Islands
  • PPD, Inc.
  • Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG)
  • Raytheon
  • Rodale
  • Samsung Electronics
  • San Francisco International Airport
  • Six Flags Entertainment Corporation
  • SunTrust
  • Symantec
  • Synchrony Financial
  • Tam Faktoring
  • The AES Corporation
  • The Clorox Company
  • Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health
  • Toyota Motor North America
  • UBL Fund Managers
  • UBS
  • UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund)
  • United Parcel Service
  • University of Chicago Medicine
  • University of Mississippi Medical Center
  • Upper Canada District School Board
  • U.S. Venture
  • Vail Resorts
  • Verizon
  • Vision Source
  • Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
  • Wells Fargo Bank
  • Westchester County Government
  • Wipro Limited

2016 CIO Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Mike Benson, CIO, AT&T Entertainment Group
  • Stephen Gold, CIO and executive vice president, Business and Technology Operations, CVS Health
  • Donagh Herlihy, CIO and executive vice president, Digital, Bloomin’ Brands
  • Albert Hitchcock, CIO, Chief Technology & Operations Officer, Pearson Plc
  • Suresh Kumar, CIO and senior vice president, BNY Mellon
  • Randy Sloan, senior vice president and CIO, Southwest Airlines Co.
  • Robert Urwiler, CIO and executive vice president, Vail Resorts


2016 CIO 100 Judges thanks this year’s panel of judges for their dedication and insight.

Dennis Anderson, professor & chairman, Department of Management & IT, St. Francis College

Stephen Andriole, Ph.D., Thomas G.Labrecque professor of Business Technology, Villanova School of Business, Villanova University

Robert D. Austin, professor, Management of Creativity and Innovation, Copenhagen Business School

Doug Barker, CEO, Barker & Scott Consulting

Paul Bergamo, vice president and consulting director EA practice, Forrester Research

Hans Brechbühl, executive eirector, Center for Digital Strategies & Adjunct Associate Professor, Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth

Bob Bruce, president & CEO, BlueCod Technologies

Robert Carr, vice president, Executive Partner, Gartner

Charlie Feld, founder, The Feld Group Institute

Martha Heller, president, Heller Search Associates

Peter High, president, Metis Strategy

D. Kevin Horner, president & CEO, Mastech

Cathy Hotka, Principal, Cathy Hotka & Associates

M. Eric Johnson, Dean and Bruce D. Henderson Professor of Strategy, Owen School of Management, Vanderbilt University

Michael Krigsman, CEO,

Kristen Lamoreaux, president & CEO, Lamoreaux Search

Michael E. Lawson, professor of Economics, Executive Education, Boston University Questrom School of Business

Jerry Luftman, professor & managing director, Global Institute for IT Management

Abbie Lundberg, president, Lundberg Media

Jerry McElhatton, president, Virtual Resources

Kavin Moody, executive director, Center for Information Management Studies (retired), Babson College

Bart Perkins, managing partner, Leverage Partners, Inc.

Tom Pettibone, partner, Transition Partners Co.

Howard Rubin, founder & president, Rubin Worldwide

Eric Sigurdson, CIO Practice Leader, Russell Reynolds Associates

Rick Swanborg, president, ICEX

Madeline Weiss, president, Weiss Associates

George Westerman, principal research scientist, MIT Sloan School of Management

Carl Wilson, executive vice president & CIO (retired), Marriott International

Herb Smaltz, president & CEO, CIO Consult, LLC

Mike Hugos, co-founder, SCM Globe

Meredith Whalen, senior vice president, IT Executive Programs, IDC

Chris Laping, co-founder and CEO, People Before Things LLC

David Chou, digital health evangelist, dchougroup

Randy Bean, CEO, NewVantage Consulting

Andrew Sohn, principal, Molsonix Consulting

Saad Ayub, CEO, managing director, Rumindo Group

Maryann Goebel, board member, Seacoast National Bank

Louie Ehrlich, Strategic Consultant/Exec Coach, Ehrlich Consulting

Fran Dramis, CEO, F. Dramis LLC

Randy Krotowski, principal, NxT Associates, LLC

Khalid Kark, director, CIO Program, Deloitte

Raj Rawal, advisor/former CEO/CIO, The Fresh Diet

Adam Hartung, CEO, Soparfilm Energy Corporation

Brian Lurie, advisory board member, Mobiquity

Ellen Barry, principal, The EBarry Group

Steve Finnerty, principal, Finnerty Consulting LLC

Ray Pawlicki, board member, Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare

Frank Modruson, board member, Zebra Technologies & Taleris

Carl Ascenzo, CEO and principal consultant, Ascention Consulting

Eric Bloom, president & CTO, Manager Mechanics LLC

Sanjay Gupta, consultant & research analyst, IDC

Paul Ingevaldson, retired CIO & author, Ingevaldson Consulting

Amy Marie Young, faculty, University of Michigan Ross School

Marc Strohlein, principal, Agile Business Logic