by CIO Staff

Winners of the 2009 Ones to Watch Awards

May 04, 20092 mins

Honoring the next generation of IT leaders and the CIOs who have fostered their talents

Smart leaders invest now for the future. And they don’t stop making that investment when times get tough.


Forging Good Leaders in Hard Times

Growing Gen Y Leaders

2009 Ones to Watch Winners

2009 Ones to Watch Judges

Honoring that steadfast commitment to leadership development is at the heart of the Ones to Watch Awards, presented annually by CIO magazine and the CIO Executive Council. Through this award, we recognize the next generation of IT leaders and the CIOs who’ve never stopped investing in their talents. With our Standout awards, we highlight those Ones to Watch honorees who have excelled in leading innovation, business strategy, project execution, team building or organizational change.

The 25 men and women who comprise the 2009 Ones to Watch honorees truly epitomize the spirit of business technology leadership. Congratulations to all of our honorees and their CIOs.

Mark Abbott, 36

SVP for Strategy and Technology Alignment

Raymond James Financial

Philip Alberta, 38

VP, IT Business and Technology

Tiffany & Co.

Richard Bailey, 54

Deputy CIO

State of Connecticut, Dept. of Information Technology

Sharon Cates-Williams, 48

Deputy CIO IT Delivery Services

New York State CIO/Office for Technology

Kevin Cooke, 39

Associate CIO, IT Corporate Management

U.S. Department of Energy

Ken Corless, 44

Executive Director of Business Applications Delivery


Risa Fogel

Senior Managing Director of Business Relationship Management

Cushman & Wakefield

Tracy Foy, 42

VP and CTO


Vipin Gupta, 40

standout winner


SVP, Business Information Officer

National City

Bruno Hall, 41

Deputy CIO, Americas

ECI Telecom

Zack Hicks, 45

VP, Administrative Services

Toyota Motor Sales, USA

T.X. Ho, 51

standout winner

Project Driver

Senior Director of Global Applications


Harold Eugene (Gene) Hopkins, 50

Senior Director, Enterprise Applications

EMCON Technologies

Debbie Jowers, 52

Administrative Director of Applications

Texas Health Resources

Jay Kerley, 42

standout winner

Change Agent

VP, IT Production Services and Solutions Management

Applied Materials

Craig Lynch, 38

Enterprise Information and eLearning Services Officer

Chicago Public Schools

Vito Melfi, 52

VP, IT Operations


Jeffrey Modell, 40

Division Chief, IT Client Services

International Monetary Fund

Karen Nocket, 47

standout winner

Business Strategist

Divisional Information Officer, Automotive Systems

Toyota Motor Sales, USA

Jennifer Sanchez, 49

IT Manager, Section Chief

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Ed Smith, 43

SVP, Global Internet Solutions


Chris Tomlinson, 32

Director, Radiology

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Dee Waddell, 37

standout winner

Team Builder

Group Information Officer, Marketing, Sales and Customer Service

Amtrak (National Railroad Passenger Corporation)

Gary Widiger, 44

Director, Enterprise Architecture


David Zanca, 51

SVP, E-Commerce Technology

FedEx Services