by Stephanie Overby

2010 Ones to Watch Winners

May 04, 2010
CareersIT LeadershipMentoring

CIO magazine's annual list of promising IT leaders.

No one becomes a leader overnight. But over time, in the face of increasingly complex challenges, promising leaders emerge. The Ones to Watch Awards, presented annually by CIO magazine and the CIO Executive Council, recognize this next generation of IT leaders and the CIOs who nurture their talents. Our five Standout Awards, meanwhile, highlight those Ones to Watch winners who best exemplify those critical leadership traits that distinguish the most successful CIOs: innovation; business strategy; people development; collaboration and influence; and change leadership. The 25 men and women below are outstanding representatives of the energy and commitment of business technology leadership. Congratulations to them and to their sponsoring CIOs.

Brian Abeyta

Vice President

IT Project Management Office


Thomas M. Bartiromo


Saint Barnabas Health Care System Jason Benedict

Exec. Dir. of Information Security Office

Fordham University Jeffrey D. Blackwell

National Dir. of Technology Information Technology Services

Deloitte Steven Bloomfield

Dir. of IT Manufacturing Systems

Freescale Semiconductor

Standout Award Winner People/Organization Development

Andy Blumenthal


Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and ExplosivesPaul J. Capizzi

VP of IT

SBLI USA Mutual Life Insurance Srini Cherukuri

Senior Director of IT Operations

Maston Navigation Terry Dinterman

VP of Technology Services

JetBlue Airways Paul Dowling

VP of IT Hosting, Network & Information Security

Avanade Michael N. Dunn*


SuperMedia Simon Dunning

Managing Director of Demand Management

Applied Materials Myra Egbert

IT Manager of Corporate Client Services

Marathon Oil Aaron Gani

VP of Applications Engineering

IT Humana Michael Guggemos

Corporate VP of IT

Motorola Heather Hartman

Director of IS Technical Services Care

New England Health System Bryson Koehler

SVP of Global Revenue and Guest Technology

IHG InterContinental Hotels Group

Standout Award Winner Innovation

John Meister

SVP & Group Head of Authorization and Database Engineering

MasterCard Worldwide

Standout Award Winner Business Strategy

David Neitz

VP of Solutions & Innovation

Lincoln Trust Company

Standout Award Winner Change Leadership

Lynn Roberts

VP of Enterprise Project Delivery & Enabling Functions

AstraZenecaRuchir Rodrigues

Vice President

Verizon Jill T. Singer*


National Reconnaissance Office

Standout Award Winner Collaboration & Influence

Joanne Wilken

Process Managing Director

Scottrade Wes Wright


Seattle Childrens Hospital Craig Young

Staff VP of IT; Area CIO of the Northeast

Verizon Wireless

* Became a CIO after winners were selected