by Meridith Levinson

George Mason University CIO Finalist for WIT Leadership Award

Apr 19, 20073 mins

Women in Technology (WIT, not to be confused with WITI, or Women in Technology International) yesterday revealed the 19 women who are finalists for the organization’s eighth annual leadership awards. Awards are given in five categories: corporate leadership, enterpreneur leadership, government leadership, rising star and WIT champion. The finalists are…

  • Deborah Alderson, president of SAIC’s System and Network Solutions Group (corporate leadership)
  • Courtney Banks, vice president of homeland security, Raytheon Company (corporate leadership)
  • Kathleen Moore, CFO and COO, Innovectra Corporation (corporate leadership)
  • Michele Perry, CMO, Sourcefire (corporate leadership)
  • Ellie Nazemoff, CEO, Acolyst (entrepreneur leadership)
  • Dolly Oberoi, CEO, C2 Technologies Inc. (entrepreneur leadership)
  • Mary Ann Wagner, president, XIO Strategies (entrepreneur leadership)
  • Rose Wang, CEO, Binary Group (entrepreneur leadership)
  • Tina Burnette, director of acquisition management, Federal Emergency Management Agency (government leadership)
  • Janice Cuny, director of information technology, National Science Foundation (government leadership)
  • Dr. Joy Hughes, Vice President of information technology and CIO, George Mason University (government leadership)
  • Dr. Loyce Best Pailen, director of the Center for Support of Instruction, University of Maryland University College (government leadership)
  • Jenise Setian, Chief, Office of Personnel Management Training Management Assistance (government leadership)
  • Abigail Jones, assistant manager of information design, ABCTE Inc. (rising star)
  • Tina Kang, project manager, ITSolutions LLC (rising star)
  • Jennifer Keating, director of technology infrastructure, CDW Government Inc. (rising star)
  • Jennifer Murrill, operations researcher/cost analyst, Northrop Grumman Information Technology (rising star)
  • Ardell Fleeson, managing director of business development, Human Capital Advisors LLC (WIT champion)
  • Jill Klein, executive in residence, American University’s Kogod School of Business (WIT champion)

Winners of the awards will be recognized at a banquet on May 17, 2007 at the Hilton McLean in Tyson’s Corner. More information about the awards is available on WIT’s web site. TradeCapture, a developer of oil trading and risk management software, promoted its CIO to president and CEO. David Newton served as the Stamford, Conn.-based company’s CIO for the past 18 months. In that position, he was responsible for product strategy and development. Prior to

joining TradeCapture in 2005, Newton worked for BP and Shell. He implemented Shell’s transactional, risk management and position keeping system for oil in 1992. Two years later he did the same thing at BP and was subsequently named BP’s global director of oil trading systems. A few years later he assumed responsibility for systems strategy, technical architecture and investment planning at BP.  

Monster Worldwide recruited Darko Dejanovic as its SVP and global CIO. He is based in the company’s office in Maynard, Mass. and reports to Brad Baker, president of technology, product and service. Dejanovic joined Monster Worldwide from Tribune Company where he most recently served as SVP and CTO.  During his ten year career with Tribune, Dejanovic worked for the Sun Sentinel newspaper in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. as its technology director in charge of the paper’s systems, infrastructure and applications.  In 1999, he moved to the Chicago Tribune where he was named VP and CTO. Three years later, Dejanovic was made vice president and CTO for Tribune Publishing before he was made SVP and CTO of Tribune Co.