How the top social networks compare on privacy -- in one handy chart

Not all privacy settings are created equal. Here’s an in-depth look at what Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google+ offer users.

1 2 3 4 Page 3
Page 3 of 4

Opt out of photo tagging

Facebook: You cannot opt out of photo tagging, but you can review when friends tag you before it appears on your timeline. Settings > Timeline and Tagging > Who can add things to my timeline. Switch the second option to On.

Twitter: Settings > Security and privacy > Privacy > Photo tagging. Then click Save Changes at the bottom.

LinkedIn: LinkedIn does not support photo tagging.

Google+: You cannot opt out of photo tagging, but you can manage automatically approved tags. Settings > Photos and Videos. At the bottom of this section, type in the people whose tags of you are automatically approved to be added to the "Photos of you" section of your profile.

Disable facial recognition

Facebook: Settings > Timeline and Tagging > How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions? Then, click Edit next to "Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?"

Twitter: Twitter does not use facial recognition.

LinkedIn: LinkedIn does not use facial recognition.

Google+: Settings > Photos and Videos, then uncheck the box next to "Find my face in photos and videos and prompt people I know to tag me." For more on how Find my Face works, see Google+ Help.

Opt out of search engine indexing

Facebook: By default, Facebook will let search engines link to your timeline. To opt out, visit Settings > Privacy > Who can look me up, then click Edit next to "Do you want other search engines to link to your timeline?"

Twitter: You cannot opt out of search engine listings.

LinkedIn: You cannot opt out of search engine listings.

Google+: Settings > Profile > Uncheck the box next to "Help others discover my profile in search results."

Review recent logins

Facebook: To review and manage where you're currently logged into Facebook, visit Settings > Security > Where You're Logged In.

Twitter: You cannot review where you've logged into Twitter.

LinkedIn: You cannot review where you've logged into LinkedIn.

Google+: To review and manage where you're currently logged into your Google Account (which includes Google+), open Gmail. Click Details below "Last account activity" at the bottom-right of the page.

Set login alerts

Facebook: To receive an alert when anyone logs into your account from a new device or browser, visit Settings > Security > Login Alerts. You can choose from Facebook, email or text message alerts.

Twitter: You cannot set login alerts.

LinkedIn: You cannot set login alerts.

Google+: To receive an alert if Google suspects suspicious activity on your Google Account (which includes Google+), open Gmail. Click Details below "Last account activity" at the bottom-right of the page. Click Change next to "Alert preference" and select "Show an alert for unusual activity."

Enable two-factor authentication

Facebook: You can use your phone as an extra layer of security to keep other people from logging into your account. To enable this, visit Settings > Security > Login Approvals.

Twitter: To enable login verifications: Settings > Security and privacy > Security > Login verification, then click Save Changes at the bottom.

LinkedIn: Privacy & Settings > Account > Settings > Manage security settings. Then, turn on two-step verification for sign-in and click Done.

Google+: You can enable two-step verification for your entire Google Account, which affects your Google+ profile. Start the process here

Related:
1 2 3 4 Page 3
Page 3 of 4
NEW! Download the Fall 2018 digital issue of CIO