by CIO Staff

Who Is Worthy of the CIO Hall of Fame?

Apr 20, 20072 mins
IT Leadership

Verizon's Shaygan Kheradpir? Ralph Szygenda at General Motors? Is Reed Hastings of Netflix a Hall of Famer? You tell us—and add your own favorites to our growing list of nominees.

To celebrate the individuals who have transformed IT during the past 20 years, CIO has been collecting nominations for its CIO Hall of Fame. Now time is running out.

The deadline for nominations is May 15, and the new Hall of Fame members will be announced in the Oct. 1, 2007 issue of CIO. To nominate your favorite candidates, go to our nomination form and follow the instructions.

To get a feel for what it takes to be a Hall of Famer, read about the currently enshrined members.

You can also get current takes on the state of the CIO from Hall members:

Donald R. Lasher Looks Back

Moore’s Law, the “dark side” of the Internet, the human disconnect, the decline of IT architecture and the challenges facing CIOs today.

Pat Wallington on 20 Years of IT Change

Miniaturization, computational ubiquity, pervasiveness and the CIO role.

To date, our nominees include the following standout IT leaders: (Companies listed may not be their current employer, but instead is the name of the company where they made their reputations.)

  • Ralph Szygenda, General Motors
  • Kurt Woetzel, Bank of New York
  • Reed Hastings, Netflix
  • Rick Dalzell,
  • Steve Buege, Thomson Legal & Regulatory
  • John Marshall, Southwest Airlines
  • Tom Nealon, J.C. Penney
  • Rob Carter, Federal Express
  • Shaygan Kheradpir, Verizon
  • John Glaser, Partners Healthcare
  • Darwin John, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, FBI
  • Steve Finnerty, Kraft
  • Carl Wilson, Marriott
  • Randy Mott, Dell
  • Gregor Bailar, Capital One

Who else deserves consideration? Tell us now!